Wednesday, August 4, 2010
Presentation Day!
Days of preparation, stress and emotions finally paid off today when it was my turn. I set up all my stuff with he help of some girls and that made me feel a little more at ease than I did when i first stood up. Although the whole class was sitting (hopefully) in suspense waiting for me to get finished and start, I started getting a little more nervous. Then when I realized I left the poster in the car is when i really started to panic. That right there taught me to always be prepared and never forget anything. I had made that poster as a reference for a specific line I said in my talk and if it wouldn't have been there what I was talking about would have made no sense. I think that the more props the better due to the fact that visual understanding is most peoples easiest way of giving things definition. Like I said in class my biggest struggle was that I knew I had to impress more than any other gal in the class to due the fact that not everyone was even interested in what I was talking about. Its funny how you can let a comment from someone make you feel less knowledgeable or doubt yourself when really you know your going to do fine. Just staying confident and clear minded I think that you are able to fool the audience because really inside your shaking so bad. They don't have to know if you don't let it show right. I think that my presentation went fabulous. I practiced and practiced at home with Lisa, my mom whoever I could get to listen and do there toes I did. Every time I was in my car I would also do the whole talk, I would watched the clock with the timer of my light in mind and was so surprised today when I sat down I felt like all the practice was tedious because I realized then and there that I knew what I was talking about and I knew I was comfortable with presenting it and so my confidence level is what made me do well I think, to me at least. If I didn't make everyone want to book a party right then I at least educated them in a fun relaxed way on what is a big part of my life.
Monday, August 2, 2010
What I learned today....
Today after listening to all the girls give their presentations I learned that it's not really that big of deal to talk in fron of this class inparticular. All of the girls got up with a little shake in their voice wich is totally normal and expected once they had been talking for a few minutes they realized that audienve was interested and just wanted to learn more. Visuals can be a great thing I think howver too much text on your slides can make it overwhelming and we have talked about that a ton in this class, I felt some slides had to much so it reminded me not to do that. Being comfortable in your suroundings is going to make your talk go so much better and smoother. I am talking about something I know more than enough about and something i am 100% comfortable with but on another note discussing my topic with the teacher I was under the impression he didn't want an autobiography so now I'm torn on my feelings about mine. In the begining I think mine would have had a little autobiography ness to it but now I have put so much effort into it not being any such thing. After listening to these girls today I think it will be fine to have a little comparrison to autobiography type talk. The biggest thing I learned today though is not being confident in what your talking about shows! Don't let people know your nervous and you will most likely do better
Wednesday, July 21, 2010
**Perfect Metting
Ha ha is there such a thing? I would have to say that when I know I have to attend a meeting I dread it 100%. They are so boring and I have the outlook on life that I could be doing something so much more productive than sitting in a room listening to someone else talk about something that usually is pointless. So lets talk about what I think would be a perfect successful meeting. Actually it's funny 'cuase me and one girl I work with have the same opinion on meetings and we have to attend them once a month in our office so we have come up with the idea of what we call "THE BOX". Whenever we have something we want to be discussed with one or more employees we write it down and put it in the box and then our office manager reads all the papers from the box during the meeting, Its the best thing ever I think. We don't put our names on them (although most the time you know who wrote it) so there should be no confrontation when it comes to negative papers. In my experience I have decided that meeting are usually held due to something keeps happening that shouldn't or there is a situation that needs to be addressed. With the box we read the papers (which are good and bad) and then go over them say what needs to be done to work this problem out praise someone who has dome an excellent job that month or whatever the case may be then at the end of the meeting he asks if there are any questions, concerns, or ideas and were done. Its done on our lunch break so were more relaxed eating. We know when we're going to be done because we know we have a patient coming in one hour from when we start and so forth. It works really well in our office and I would recommend it to anyone.
Wednesday, July 14, 2010
~*~Goals of better communicating~*~
Communication can be the best thing ever in a relationship (*of any kind) or the worst thing ever. I think its in the top 5 for important factors on how to have a successful relationship with someone. I tend to jump to conclusions and over analyze a lot, which today I'm writting asbout ways to improve that. Well... a few ways will be to listen to the whole story before I come up with my opinion on it, look at the whole picture on the page not just the pop ups, don't take things to an extreme when I'm not positive on what's going on. Its hard for me to be the best communicator due to the fact that I don't express my opinion in every situation or every time it's asked for. There are times I don't want to because i don't want to hurt someones feelings or I don't want to deal with the bad consequences and other times I am not confident in my response so I just don't give one. I am always listening to everything and everyone, I just am a total quiet person if I am not 100% comfortable. When it comes to "communicating" my feelings... ha I tend to hold in all my feelings and not talk about things because I would rather avoid confrentation. Everyone always tells me thats not healthy to do but it works for me in a way so bla bla bla
Communication 101
In my communications class we have an assignment to create a blog and talk about communicating (*lol) I am on my second semester only of my college life and I have decided by far this teacher I have for communication 101 is by far my favorite and I'm guessing will be hard to beat. He talks to us almost as if were equals and friends you could say, not like other teachers do. He asks us a lot of questions and wants to hear our opinion on things. he makes us participate in group or one on one activities which on the surface I absolutely dread and want no such thing in my day however deep inside I know that this might be one of the best classes I could take for myself. I mean really we all communicate and to be better at it won't kill me right. So here i am communicating pretty much to myself on this blog.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
